MythTV and MythWEB on Fedora 14

I finally get everything working correctly… I don’t have a lot of time for this post, but I want to share how I corrected few problems I had.

1 – Sound problem. This one is cause by MythTV having problem dealing with PulseAudio. The solution was simple, and it was to set the MythTV FrontEnd audio device to ALSA:pulse … There’s no auto discovery for this.

The second problem was with MythWeb. I was unable to load the web interface.

Here’s the errors I got:

Apache logs:
PHP Fatal error:  Failed to open translation file:  modules_path/_shared/lang/English.lang in /usr/share/mythweb/classes/Translate.php on line 172
MythTV Backend:
MainServer, Warning: Unknown socket closing MythSocket

So I don’t think this is the best fix ever. But if you’re like me and totally pissed off do this:

# vim /usr/share/mythweb/classes/Translate.php

Modify this section (original) :

    // Load the primary language file, or English if the other doesn't exist.
        if (file_exists(modules_path.'/_shared/lang/'.$language.'.lang'))
            $path = modules_path.'/_shared/lang/'.$language.'.lang';
        else
            $path = modules_path.'/_shared/lang/English.lang';

After modification it should look like this:

       //if (file_exists(modules_path.'/_shared/lang/'.$language.'.lang'))
        if (file_exists('/usr/share/mythweb/modules/_shared/lang/English.lang'))
            $path = '/usr/share/mythweb/modules/_shared/lang/English.lang';
        else
            $path = '/usr/share/mythweb/modules/_shared/lang/English.lang';

And voila… everything is working now. Feel free to ask question I know there’s not a lot of detail in this post but I’ve run into a lot of problem with this setup, so I can probably help!

++

    • bill
    • January 28th, 2012

    Thanks, that mythweb problem was driving me nuts.
    stumbled on your post and like ya say, may not be elegant but it’s the first solution I saw that worked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

