MythTV and MythWEB on Fedora 14

I finally get everything working correctly… I don’t have a lot of time for this post, but I want to share how I corrected few problems I had.

1 – Sound problem. This one is cause by MythTV having problem dealing with PulseAudio. The solution was simple, and it was to set the MythTV FrontEnd audio device to ALSA:pulse … There’s no auto discovery for this.

The second problem was with MythWeb. I was unable to load the web interface.

Here’s the errors I got:

Apache logs:
PHP Fatal error:  Failed to open translation file:  modules_path/_shared/lang/English.lang in /usr/share/mythweb/classes/Translate.php on line 172
MythTV Backend:
MainServer, Warning: Unknown socket closing MythSocket

So I don’t think this is the best fix ever. But if you’re like me and totally pissed off do this:

# vim /usr/share/mythweb/classes/Translate.php

Modify this section (original) :

    // Load the primary language file, or English if the other doesn't exist.
        if (file_exists(modules_path.'/_shared/lang/'.$language.'.lang'))
            $path = modules_path.'/_shared/lang/'.$language.'.lang';
        else
            $path = modules_path.'/_shared/lang/English.lang';

After modification it should look like this:

       //if (file_exists(modules_path.'/_shared/lang/'.$language.'.lang'))
        if (file_exists('/usr/share/mythweb/modules/_shared/lang/English.lang'))
            $path = '/usr/share/mythweb/modules/_shared/lang/English.lang';
        else
            $path = '/usr/share/mythweb/modules/_shared/lang/English.lang';

And voila… everything is working now. Feel free to ask question I know there’s not a lot of detail in this post but I’ve run into a lot of problem with this setup, so I can probably help!

++

Author: Arsenick

Hi all! I'm a 27 years old guy from Quebec city, Canada. I've been playing with Linux since 1998 and start to earn my life using Linux and FOSS around 2005. Since then I've earned few certification and courses including CLP10 (Certified Linux Professional from Novell), RHCE (RedHat Certified Engineer) and JBOSS Administration course. I'm a Linux sys admin and I'm working here in Quebec city for a small company who are RedHat Advanced partner since few years. So I'm trying to always keep me updated on new technology and new RedHat product. The best way I've found to do it is to use and contribute to the Fedora Community. So I've joined the community in mid 2009 as a Fedora Ambassadors, I still learning how everything work in a opensource community, but I really liked what I saw at the 2009 FUDCON in Toronto.

One thought on “MythTV and MythWEB on Fedora 14”

  1. Thanks, that mythweb problem was driving me nuts.
    stumbled on your post and like ya say, may not be elegant but it’s the first solution I saw that worked.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.