S2LQ Fedora presence report

The S2LQ is now over. We had two great days and a lot of people had come! There was more than 600 persons who sign up for the free event which make this event one of the top 3 biggest event in the computer industry in Quebec, Canada!

First, sorry for the delay of this report, there’s a lot of thing happening in my life those last weeks and unfortunately I don’t have all the time I want to invest in my community activities..

That said, here’s a picture of the booth ( and me ) at the S2LQ

Unfortunately we haven’t received the  Fedora 14 DVD and there was a bunch of F13 DVD/Live cd, so I gave those media to people and tell them to download the lastest version if they like it! I almost gave an entire box of DVD and LiveCD, I can’t tell you how many, but during those two days a lot of people come back home with Fedora media to try it :)The stickers and button were pretty popular too!

So what can I say regarding the event..

My main goal was:

  1. Position Fedora in Quebec city. Show to the people that there are people using Fedora and there’s help here in Quebec city if they have trouble!
  2. Put some visibility for the Fedora Project. This one was a success with all the media distributed and with the big Fedora vertical banner
  3. Explain to people the relationship between Redhat and the Fedora Project
  4. Create some connection between the member of other community in the Quebec area ( other distribution, project etc… )
  5. Publicize the fact that there’s two Fedora ambassadors in Quebec city, and where to look if they want to be informed of release party and other events.
  6. Explain what are the main goal of the Fedora as a Linux distribution, what are the differences with the other distributions etc..

All those objectives has been achieved! I’m really proud of this event, I’ve met a lot of people involved in very different way in Opensource and heard of project born here and we didn’t even know!

I event get a picture with Richard Stallman! Again not the best picture ever.. I don’t know what’s wrong with me an pictures ;)

Thanks for everyone who helped me for this event, I think about Larry Cafiero who sent me the vertical banner and the button, Jean-Francois Saucier who gave me the F13 media, ng who sent me Fedora t-shirt which I didn’t receive on time unfortunately :( ,Michael Lessard and Claude Reeves for all the talk during spare time between presentation! ;) Ho, and Thanks the Laurent Bounin and everyone from the APELL who make this event a success!

More photos of the event:

http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=s2lq&m=tags

http://s2lq.com/photos

Videos:

http://s2lq.com/zone-vid%C3%A9o

  1. Great report, Rene! Your picture is fine, but who’s the guy in the red shirt? :-)

    • Thank you ;) Unfortunately he wasn’t wearing his evangelist dress! :P

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

